View & accessibility
Thumbnails
Motion
Bforartists
5.1
Editors

Image Menu

The Image menu contains the load and save functionality.

4
 min read
Up to date for 
5.1
draft

UV Editor - Image Menu

The Image menu contains the load and save functionality.

Not all content shows with all image types. A Render Result shows a different menu content.

UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu
UV Editor - Image Menu

New

New

Creates a new image. You will get a dialog where you can define settings for the new image.

EntryWhat it does
NameThe name of the new image
WidthThe width of the new image.
HeightThe height of the new image.

Color

Color

Adjust the color of the new image. A click will call a color picker.

Alpha

Check this checkbox if the new image should have an alpha channel.

Generated Type

Generated Type

Define what kind of texture you want to create.

Blank is one plain color.

UV Grid is a checker texture in black and white.

Color Grid is a colored checker texture.

EntryWhat it does
32 Bit FloatCheck this checkbox if the image should be in 32 Bit floating point bit depth per channel. Else it is in 8 bit per channel.
TiledCreate a tiled image.

Open

Opens the file browser to load an image.

Open Cached Render

To get it to work you need to have Cycles as the renderer selected. This feature does not work with Eevee or Workbench renderer.

Read all the current scene's render layers from cache, as needed.

This feature can be be used to save RAM while rendering because the render layers do not have to be saved in RAM. It can also be used to recover some information from a fail render.

EntryWhat it does
ReplaceReplaces the currently active image by an image that you load.
ReloadReloads the currently selected image. Note that the images must already exist somewhere at your hard disk. When you create a new image in Bforartists, then this image isn't saved yet, and so you cannot reload it.
Edit ExternallyOpen the image in a defined external image editor like The Gimp or Photoshop. The image must be saved. And the image editor must be defined in the User Preferences.
Save ImageSaves the currently selected image without any further questions. Note that the images must already exist somewhere at your hard disk.
Save As ImageSaves the currently selected image.
Save a CopySaves a copy of the currently selected image. This will save the file to a specified name, but will keep the old one open in the Image editor.
Save all ImagesSaves all images. Note that the images must already exist somewhere at your hard disk so that they can be saved. The item is greyed out as long as the image is not saved to disk.

Invert submenu

Invert submenu

Invert is a sub menu where you can invert the colors of the whole image, or just specific colors.

Note: This only shows when in the when not viewing the Viewer or Render Result.

Resize

Resize

Allows you to change the dimensions of the image. The tool calls a resize panel.

Note: This only shows when in the when not viewing the Viewer or Render Result.

Transform submenu

Transform submenu

Note: These only shows when in the when not viewing the Viewer or Render Result.

EntryWhat it does
Flip HorizontallyFlip the image horizontally around it’s central axis.
Flip VerticallyFlip the image vertically around it’s central axis.
Rotate Clockwise 90°Rotate the image to the right by 90 degrees.
Rotate Counter-Clockwise 90°Rotate the image to the left by 90 degrees.
Rotate Flip 180°Rotate the image to the right by 180 degrees and flip the image upside down.

Pack

Pack

Packs the currently active image into the blend file. When you save the blend file the next time, then this image will be embedded. The Pack menu item turns into an Unpack menu item with packed textures.

Pack

Packed images are marked with a pack icon. A click at this icon will unpack the texture, and try to save it to file. Usually to the last existing location before it was packed.

Warning: You cannot modify packed images. Changes at the image will not be saved. You need to unpack the image when you want to modify it. And repack it after you have done the changes.