View & accessibility
Thumbnails
Motion
Bforartists
5.1
Editors

Node Tab

The node panel allows you to give nodes and node groups a name and a label, and change its color.

7
 min read
Up to date for 
5.1
draft

Node Tab - Node Panel

Node Tab - Node Panel
Node Tab - Node Panel

The node panel allows you to give nodes and node groups a name and a label, and change its color.

Name

The type of the node.

Label

Label

The label name of the node.

Color sub menu

Color checkbox

The Color checkbox turns custom color on or off.

Presets

Presets

Store some color presets and reuse them. They are stored globally, and transfers to other blend files.

Color

Color

Choose a custom color. A click at the color field will open a color picker.

Node color specials

Node color specials
Copy Color

Allows you to copy the color.

Copy Color

NodeTab - Properties Panel

NodeTab - Properties Panel
NodeTab - Properties Panel

This panel shows usually the same properties than the properties at the node. These properties are already explained in the Add menu chapters. So we won't repeat them here.

NodeTab - Properties Panel
NodeTab - Properties Panel

But there are exceptions like the Image node. Here the Properties panel shows much more options than at the node. It shows all the possible image settings. We will explain the extra options here.

Node Tab - Properties Panel with Image node

Node Tab - Properties Panel with Image node
Node Tab - Properties Panel with Image node

Contains image related settings. Size, type, and so on.

Image Property

Load an image and / or switch to other images.

From left to right ...

Image Property
Image Property
EntryWhat it does
Image BrowserThis is a list of the images in the scene. Allows you to switch to other images.
New / OpenWhen nothing is loaded then you will see the New / Open buttons to load a new image, or to create a new one.
Image Edit BoxThe name of the currently selected image. And you can rename the image here too.
Fake UserWit this button you assign a fake user to this selected image. Data, like images, that is not longer linked to anything else gets removed when you save and reload a scene. Bforartists has the concept of fake users to go around this behavior. An image with a fake user is in fact linked to something. And so it is not lost when you save and reload the scene.
Open ImageLoad an image
RemoveDelete the image.

Source

Source

Choose the image type. This type gets usually automatically set. When you create a new image, then this image is generated. When you load an image then the Source switches to Single Image.

Generated images does not have a path.

Source Type Single Image

Source Type Single Image
Source Type Single Image
Path edit box
Path edit box
EntryWhat it does
PackWith this button you can pack the movie or the image sequence into the blend file. It gets packed when you save the blend file the next time.
Path edit boxSee and edit the path to your movie or image sequence files.
OpenOpen a new movie or image sequence files. A file dialog will appear.
RefreshReread the movie or image sequence files.
Color Space
Color Space

The color space for the image.

Alpha
Alpha

How to calculate the alpha channel.

Half Float Precision

Just with image material that uses 32 bit float. Use just 16 Bit per channel instead of the full 32 bit. This lowers the memory usage while rendering.

View as Render
View as Render

Display the image with using the color management settings. The color management can be adjusted in the properties editor in the Render tab.

Seam Margin

This option belongs to the UV Editor, and has no effect in the Image editor. Take a margin into account when fixing UV seams during painting.

Source Type Movie + Image Sequence

Source Type Movie + Image Sequence
Source Type Movie + Image Sequence
Source Type Movie + Image Sequence
Source Type Movie + Image Sequence
Path edit box
Path edit box
EntryWhat it does
PackWith this button you can pack the movie or the image sequence into the blend file. It gets packed when you save the blend file the next time.
Path edit boxSee and edit the path to your movie or image sequence files.
OpenOpen a new movie or image sequence files. A file dialog will appear.
RefreshReread the movie or image sequence files.
EntryWhat it does
Info stringSome information about the currently loaded movie. Frames, resolution and color space.
FramesThe number of frames of the movie or image sequence. · Match Movie Length: Set Users Image Length to the one of this video.
StartThe start frame of the movie or image sequence
OffsetOffset the number of the frame to use in the animation. -1 means off.
CyclicCycle the images in the movie.
Auto RefreshAlways refresh image on frame changes.
DeinterlaceDeinterlace the movie file on load.
Color Space
Color Space

Choose the color space type for the movie or image sequence files.

Alpha
Alpha

Choose the alpha channel mode. Straight or Premultiplied.

Half Float Precision

Just with image material that uses 32 bit float. Use just 16 Bit per channel instead of the full 32 bit. This lowers the memory usage while rendering.

View as Render
View as Render

Display the image with using the color management settings. The color management can be adjusted in the properties editor in the Render tab.

Seam Margin

This option belongs to the UV Editor, and has no effect in the Image editor. Take a margin into account when fixing UV seams during painting.

Source Type Generated

Source Type Generated
X / Y

The image width and height.

Float Buffer

Use a floating point buffer. 8 Bit images uses integers. 32 Bit works with floats.

Generated Type Blank
Generated Type Blank

This type displays an image with one blank color

Color

The color of the blank image.

Generated Type UV Grid
Generated Type UV Grid
Generated Type UV Grid

This type displays a with a black and white checker texture but colored dots.

Generated Type Color Grid
Generated Type Color Grid
Generated Type Color Grid

This type displays a with a colored checker texture with numbers.

Color Space
Color Space

Choose the color space type for the image.

Half Float Precision

Just with image material that uses 32 bit float. Use just 16 Bit per channel instead of the full 32 bit. This lowers the memory usage while rendering.

View as Render
View as Render

Display the image with using the color management settings. The color management can be adjusted in the properties editor in the Render tab.

Seam Margin

This option belongs to the UV Editor, and has no effect in the Image editor. Take a margin into account when fixing UV seams during painting.

Source Type Udim

Source Type Udim

UDIM is an enhancement to the UV mapping and texturing workflow. And does not belong here. But in the UV Editor. It is just in the list because it shares the same menus with the UV Editor.

Info string

Some information about the currently loaded image. Resolution and color space.

Color Space
Color Space

Choose the color space type for the movie or image sequence files.

Alpha
Alpha

Choose the alpha channel mode. Straight or Premultiplied.

Half Float Precision

Just with color space sRGB. Use just 16 Bit per channel instead of the full 32 bit. This lowers the memory usage while rendering.

View as Render
View as Render

Display the image with using the color management settings. The color management can be adjusted in the properties editor in the Render tab.

Seam Margin

This option belongs to the UV Editor, and has no effect in the Image editor. Take a margin into account when fixing UV seams during painting.

Node Tab - Properties Panel with File Output node

Directory

Directory

The directory to save to.

EntryWhat it does
File NameThe file name to save with.
Type of media to saveImage: Save as image. · Multi-layer EXR: Save as multi-layer EXR file.

Node Format subpanel

Node Format subpanel
Node Format subpanel

Export settings for the different image file formats and the Exr file. These are already described in the Properties > Output chapter. So we won’t repeat it here.

Layers subpanel

Layers subpanel

Allows you to define input sockets for the File Output node.

Socket Type

The socket type.

Dimensions (Vector type)

How many values the vector has.

Override Node Format
Override Node Format

Use a different format instead of the node format for this file. Ticking it opens yet another file format picker.

Output Paths subpanel

Output Paths subpanel

Just EXR

Shows the path to the saved file.

Node Tab - Properties Panel with Movie Clip node

File property

File property
EntryWhat it does
File browserBrowse the available movie clips.
File nameThe name of the current active movie clip.
Fake UserHow many users this clip has.
RemoveRemove the current active clip.
EntryWhat it does
File PathThe file path to the active movie clip. · Browse: Browse for another file. · Refresh: Refresh the file.
Start FrameThe start frame at which the movie starts playing.
Frame OffsetOffset of footage first frame relative to its file name.

Color Space

Color Space

Choose the color space for the imported movie.